Make Things

Stripe Stroller Blanket – No Pattern

I had this beautiful Alpaca sport weight yarn  by Diamond Yarns.

I could not figure out what I wanted to do with it, mostly because purple is not one of my favourite colors.  I decided to whip up a quick stroller blanket.

What makes a stroller blanket different from regular blankets?  Size.

This one measures 21.5″ x 24″, which I think makes it the perfect size to tuck a wee one into a stroller without piles extra dragging on the ground or bunched up underneath.  That’s my thought anyways.

There  is no real pattern for it.  I started from the purple edge, and cast on the number of stitches, based on gauge to get 24 inches. I used this because it is simple math, as most gauge is in 4″ measures, but you could do the math to get whatever length you want.

I used seed stitch (k1, p1) and made the stripes alternating 20 rows in purple then 20 rows in cream then 10 rows in purple. I knit the middle to as long as I wanted and repeated the striping.  I told you there was no pattern.

IMG_0350

IMG_0351

Leave a Reply

