Make Things

Raisin Bran Muffins – Yummy Tuesday

Sometimes things are better than they sound.  Raisin Bran Muffins is one of those things.

There is nothing less appealing to me than bran.  Well, bran and liver. Maybe avocado.  Oh and seafood, definitely seafood.

However,  when growing up, my mum made the most amazing Raisin Bran Muffins.   I have no idea what makes these muffins better than every other bran muffin I have ever tried, but they are.  I have no idea where the recipe originally came from, as my mum got it from a friend.

The muffins are made with lard and sour milk, again, things that don’t sound good, but when mixed with the brown sugar, flour and raisins, it is all deliciously good.

IMG_0320

Raisin Bran Muffins

1/2 lard                                      1c sour milk (add 1 tsp vinegar to milk to sour)

1c brown sugar                       1tsp baking soda

1 egg                                            2 c bran

1c flour                                      1/2 – 1c raisins

375 oven for 15 min.

Enjoy.

One thought on “Raisin Bran Muffins – Yummy Tuesday

  1. Mmmm! Rasin bran muffins! So good. My mum had a recipe she used to make for us too, though I think it had oil rather than lard. And molasses, so they were really dark. Oh they were so moist though!

    I am super excited ’cause I just got a baguette pan!! I’m so inspired to bake… 🙂

Leave a Reply

